CC Christensen
Justice of the Peace


 860.289.4421
It's YOUR day...YOUR way!
Your Subtitle text
Frequently Asked Questions
Q: Are we required to be a resident of Connecticut to be married?
A: No, however you must obtain a marriage license in the town where the ceremony will take place.

Q: How old must you be to apply for a marriage license?
A: If you are 18 years of age, you do not need parental consent. Under age 18, you must have written parental consent. The parent must sign the marriage license showing proof of consent. Under age 16, you must get written consent from the probate judge in the town in which the minor/minors live.
 
Q: Can same-sex couples legally be married in the State of Connecticut?

A: Yes, on November 12, 2008, the State of Connecticut passed a law stating same-sex couples can be married legally.

Q: Are we required to hire a Justice of the Peace in the town in which we reside?
A: No, all Connecticut licensed Justices of the Peace can perform a ceremony anywhere within the State of Connecticut. I travel FREE of charge.

Q: How much will the marriage license cost?
A: The marriage license will cost $50.00 (non-refundable).

Q: Do we need to have a blood test?
A: No, the State of Connecticut no longer requires you to have a blood test.

Q: When do we apply for the marriage license?
A: The marriage license is only good for 65 days. Therefore, you must apply within 65 days of the ceremony and it must be given to the officiant no later than the day of the ceremony.

Q: Where do we apply for the marriage license?

A: You must obtain the marriage license in the town where the ceremony will be held. Most town clerk offices in the town hall will issue the marriage license while you wait.

Q: What information do we need to obtain the marriage license?
A: You will need either a valid driver's license, military ID, passport, or some form of ID with your photo, name, address and date of birth.

Q: How long will it take to receive the marriage license?
A: Usually you can get the marriage license on the same day you apply.

Q: Does the marriage license expire?
A: Yes, it is only valid for 65 days from the date of application.

Q: What is done with the marriage license after we are married?
A: The officiant is legally responsible for returning the marriage license. He/She will return it to the town where the ceremony was held. They will then send a copy to your town of residence.

Q: How do we obtain a copy of the marriage license after we are married?

A: After you are married, you can obtain a copy of the marriage license either in the town where the ceremony was held or in your town of residence.

Q: Do we need witnesses in order to be legally married?
A: No, the State of Connecticut does not require witnesses to be present at the ceremony to be legally married, nor does it require signatures of witnesses on the marriage license itself.
 
Q: Do we need rings for the ceremony?

A: No, the State of Connecticut has no legal requirement to exchange rings.

Q: Can we write our own vows?
A: Yes, it is a personal way of expressing your thoughts and feelings to the one you love and cherish.

Q: Can our children or family members be part of the ceremony?
A: Yes, involving children or family members makes them feel special and is a nice way of making them feel part of your day.
 
Q: If we have different religious backgrounds, can they be united?
A: Yes, uniting your faiths is a wonderful way of sharing your love for one another. I would be more than happy to unite those beliefs and traditions in your ceremony.

Q: What are your fees?
A: My fees are VERY reasonable. Upon speaking with you, I will be happy to discuss them. I think you will be quite pleased.


Please feel free to contact me with additional questions that are not answered above.
 




CC Christensen
860.289.4421 (Response Time: Immediate)
weddings@justiceofthepeacecc.com (Response Time: 72 hrs.)